Life

A Break from Blogging

A friend so kindly pointed out to me that it had been 2 months since I last posted a blog entry. I guess I’m back from a blogging break… There are a few reasons why I felt I needed to take one:

  1. I found I was getting a tad squeamish from baring a LOT of my personal opinions, beliefs, and happenings online here. Blogging is great, but I do feel the need to withdraw, pull inward, and not share. To just be private without documenting or sharing. To just be in my own bubble without the interference of anyone.
  2. The Internet was making me angry. Or rather, I was feeling angry by what I was reading and it was starting to come out in comments that I was leaving in areas that I take part in online. There’s this forum I belong to for support regarding addiction in all facets (those in the midst, those wanting to recover, those in recovery, those supporting others with addiction, etc.) but one of the conversations took on this negative turn regarding non consensual sexual activity between partners and it left a really bad taste in my mouth and a grim outlook for the world my daughters are growing up in. Needless to say, I just haven’t have been back. I have no tolerance for people who make excuses for non consensual sexual activity. I was also reading a lot of ignorant opinions in comment sections of articles that dealt with complex issues. I was feeling frustrated by some of these opinions and I was probably rather snarky in some of the comments that I left myself, not channeling that frustration in a productive way. When the Internet as a whole is bringing about negative emotions, it’s time to pull back.
  3. The weather is nice here. Really nice. Our summer’s are short, but they are amazing, so we spend a lot of time outdoors, going to festivals, going on road trips or camping, in the garden, etc. At the end of the day, I tend to be pretty exhausted and want to hopefully squeeze in a few pages of reading before I just can’t possibly stay awake any longer.

So what have I been up to? A lot! A trip to Victoria, B.C. Camping in Drumheller, AB. A ridiculously fun space theme birthday party for my now 10 year old R. North Country Fair to celebrate the summer solstice, the Street Performer’s Festival, gardening, many park days, helping an organization out with their website, and lots more. Add in some days just for relaxing and reflecting and the summer has been pretty fantastic thus far.

I will try to get some posts up of the more post-worthy topics in the coming days.

I will also try to catch up on the blogs that I haven’t been following since taking my break. I hope everyone in the blogosphere is doing well.

Leave a Reply

