Life

The Focus on Me

The last couple of weeks, I’ve really needed to look inward. My word this year has been service, and I’ve been doing great with that, but I have been having these days where I feel like I’m coming down with something, a minor cold or what have you. Nothing fully developed (I’ve been really quite healthy this past winter) and I realized it’s just my body saying, “take time to take care of yourself.” I can’t serve anyone else if I’m not taking care of myself first.

So this last couple of weeks, I’ve needed to think about what I can and can’t manage. I’ve said no or opted out of a couple of things that would just take up too much time and energy with the other things going on in my life. I’ve gone to Al-Anon twice now and plan to make it a weekly thing. I’ve started exercising again (which is a huge natural mood booster – great for mind, body, and soul). I went to a concert on the weekend, listened to my amazing friend speak, joined a book club and went to the first meeting, reduced my hours at work, booked a flight to Victoria for the end of May, etc.

All of this has been precisely what I’ve needed. I don’t feel guilty or selfish because I know it’s true that if I’m not taking care of myself first, I won’t be able to help take care of those other people who need me. My children, my family, my friends.

So the focus has been on me. And it feels good.

Leave a Reply

