Life / Reflection

Negative Feelings Aren’t Bad

I think positive thinking is a great trait in a person. I think that we all need to see some light through the darkness to be able to make it through to the other side. But I don’t think negative feelings are inherently bad. In fact, I think they are good. If we don’t feel the negative sometimes, can we truly appreciate how lovely our lives are? I don’t know if it’s possible… Now, I’m not saying this is a free pass to whine and bitch and moan about every little thing in your life, because life is about choices, and the way we choose to act and react is something we have control over. With that said, we are emotional beings, and there are events/situations/scenarios ranging on a spectrum of unpleasant to devastating and if you are sad, I say let it consume you for awhile. If you are angry, I say, let yourself seethe (on your own, without taking the anger out on anyone else). If you are hurt or disappointed… Feel it… Own it. And then after you’ve had a chance to explore and reflect on those feelings, to understand them better, move out of that darkness and into the light once again. But don’t brush off the negative. It’s NOT bad to feel that way. It IS important to feel that as much as the good. It’s an important lesson in self discovery and we shouldn’t be in such a hurry to dismiss feelings that evoke a negative or uncomfortable feeling within us.

6 thoughts on “Negative Feelings Aren’t Bad

    • Do you think sadness is an issue to work on, if so in what way? I do count it in the “negative or uncomfortable feelings” and I think there are feelings associated with it that we have to work through (often fear, anxiety, despair) that are associated with the sadness, but I think sadness itself is something humans need. I think it helps us empathize and sympathize. Would love to hear your thoughts. :)

  1. I think we need all the negative emotions, but when they’re very strong, they help point out problem areas that might be hidden. Anger often hides fear, sadness often hides emptiness…these are things I’ve worked on for the past 5 years and it’s been very spiritually good for me. And yes, these do help one practice compassion, which is very important, too.

Leave a Reply

