Service

Community Lunch

Today, after my R and I dropped K-Girl off, we headed over to http://www.amityhouse.ca/ in Edmonton to help out with their collective kitchen.

“Dickinsfield Amity House is a family resource centre providing support services to the community since 1972. We offer a wide range of programs and services to individuals and families.”

I happen to know the director of the program, as our daughters went to school together and remain close friends. Dickinsfiled Amity House is also in the neighbourhood where I attended junior high for 3 years, and my mom lived close by here when she was younger. I had a look at their website and saw that they offer a community lunch two times a month, and since both my daughter and I enjoy cooking, I inquired about the two of us volunteering together. It seemed like a logical first place to look.

We arrived around 9 am and waited for a bit so I could speak with the volunteer coordinator and fill out some paperwork. After I got this done and chatted with the volunteer coordinator, we offered our help to the volunteers who were already well on their way preparing the meal to be served from 11:30 am to 12:30 pm. As I really wanted my daughter to be able to help, not just watch, we were probably a lot slower than anyone was expecting. R doesn’t work well under pressure, so it was important for me to be by her reassuring her that she was doing a great job chopping the peppers for the salad. The women asked me a couple of questions, about R not being in school and if she looks like her dad (she has these very vibrant blue eyes that she certainly didn’t get from me!) but much of the time I was just letting everyone know to give me instruction and trying not to get into the way too much.

I chatted with the coordinator of the community lunch in particular, and she told me that there is opportunity for me to plan the entire meal if I wanted. Which I talked to R about and she seemed excited about. After the lunch had been prepared and most of the work in the kitchen done, I talked with others about the  other possible volunteer opportunities. So the potential to do a number of things with great resource centre is there.

Despite having a bit of a cold and being pretty tired, I’m so glad we went. It was a lovely experience, the coming together of handful of people to cook for a group of others. I look forward to the other volunteer opportunity possibilities.

Leave a Reply

