Life

Lists

After crisis, I have a hard time being productive. While some people can really buckle down and get things done in tragedy or crisis, I’m typically not one of them. At least not at the beginning. I need a couple of days to process my feelings, the events that have occurred, and the potential effects. After a couple of days though, I find the tasks of running a household have piled far beyond what you would expect and if I don’t do something about it I will fall deeper into a feeling of unproductive despair. Sometimes it’s hard to know where to begin.

Enter my pal, the list. Lists have a way of making the large amount of to do items swirling in my head, into something much less daunting and much more manageable. Without lists, I flutter from this task to that without a clear plan in mind and am often easily sidetracked with things that have nothing to do with what I want to get done. Lists help me prioritize what I need to get done to feel better about the day. I am also a fan of the order they create, just by virtue of being a list. Neatly written out with the bullets perfectly aligned, then crossed out with a crisp straight line as they are completed as proof that I accomplished the tasks I set out to do for the day.

It is a small thing, this making of lists. But somehow the simplicity and order of it makes me feel so much more capable.

2 thoughts on “Lists

Leave a Reply

